Nothing

The devil has come calling again

Insidious
Stealthy

Invisible
To the naked eye

This time he wants

Nothing

Physical, organic,
Or corporeal

This time he wants
Proof

That I know how
To get away

Show me, he says
What you’ve got

Show me what you’re
Made of

And when I open my mouth
To scream
He would suck the life
Right out of me

So I shut it tight
My only resistance
And squeeze my eyes closed

Because
Nothing
Is what he wants

Yet

Nothing is the hardest
Thing of all to give

When what you feel is
Everything

Leave a Reply

