Through a Window

I am up before dawn
Walking

In the purplish grey fog
That cloaks the valley.

As daylight yawns and
Creeps round the corner

An icicle of sunlight,
Ever brazen

Pierces the shroud

And forms a tunnel into
The swirling mist
Toward a small house

Through a window

Where I see a pair of lovers
Lost in a tender embrace.

With calloused hands
He traces her lips
Gently she catches his finger

With the edge of resurgent hunger
Bait to a sated fish

Then buries her face in
The nape of his neck
Shy, playful, flirtatious…

For a long, long moment
They cling to each other
Rocking gently to and fro

To a beat only they can hear

They separate,
but just enough

For him to cup her face

Then he presses his lips
Against her mouth
While her arms wrap
round his neck.

I can see her tremble
I can hear him moan
I can feel a velvet heat in the air

As I close my eyes
For just an instant

And then they’re gone

Leave a Reply

