The Pardon

I ride within ruffled white wings of a dove
Over barren black plains
Into burnt copper canyons
And down through a river of fire

Where dreams turn to ashes
In scarletted bursts
And only the brave
Or the lucky

Or those who are chosen
Survive

Plummeting down into depths unforeseen
Beyond I imagine and
Blazing suffocation
Overcome, trial by, and into what if

Where separation of soul is
Impending

And all that is left to forsake

She gives me safe harbor
This creature of kindness
As if I’d been pardoned, granted extension
Secret Service of the gods
As if I deserved her protection

And on the ascent
At the moment of surface
When thieving inferno retreats in defeat
And breath is once again prone

I look down to see the remains of perfection
Now scorched at the fringes
Charred to the tips
Yet blissfully, painfully pure in the center
Spared in the form where I lay

And I know she has saved me
Though barely and vainly
From certain death and karmic enslavement
Delaying for now what must be in the end
Postponing the merciless inevitable

As if I’d been pardoned, granted extension
As if I deserved her protection

6 Responses to “The Pardon”

  1. Ahhh…Jewel?? Is that you? What happened, oh I see you opened the trap door, and took a look and jumped in….Yass…

    Secret service of the gods!!!!

    Dig it

  2. Written in the darkest wee hours playing cat and mouse with insomnia. I was the mouse… yes, there’s something to be said for the unexpected, isn’t there…Gracias, to be sure.

  3. I look down to see the remains of perfection
    Now scorched at the fringes
    Charred to the tips
    Yet blissfully, painfully pure in the center
    Spared in the form where I lay

    I love those lines. I recently had a death in my family and this describes how I felt about the person who died and all of those of us around her: We’re flawed, we’re charred, but something pure is still there in each of us. And in the space between.

  4. Thank you, ML, and yes, your aunt, I’ve been following your saga and thinking of you. Much appreciation for your kind words.

  5. My partner made me come here to read this … I see why now. I also read some other poems of yours. I admire poetry and those that can compose it. It’s not a gift I have.

    This reminds me of a phoenix … my phoenix.

  6. Thank you Fantasia. I guess we all have a phoenix, don’t we, some are just more hidden than others.. and please tell your partner I said thanks!

Leave a Reply

