After I Am Gone

In the space between our lips
In the time it takes to kiss me
Will you miss me
After I am gone

In the faint indentation
Left behind on your pillow
Will you bury your face
Will you breathe ever deep

The lingering essence of me

Will you trace the shape of my body
In the hollow crook of your arm
Will you remember how it felt to hold me there

In the rustling reedy wind
Will you hear my voice calling
My laugh an old tune that echoes in your head

Long after you have laughed it away

And on balmy summer breezes
Will you sense my caress
Will my warmth stay with you
Long past the chill of midnight

Will you miss my faith
Will you miss my hope
Will you miss my loathing
Of life with out you

Will you miss the way I look at you
and sigh the sigh of the gifted
To realize the bounty your breath bestows
To a heart so jaded yet daring by bewilder
Convicted of crimes it would not commit

In the end
When I’m gone
When all that remains
Is whatever you choose to remember

Will you miss me long enough
To wish I’d come back
Will you try and find me
Will you love me enough

Will you cry
When you realize

I am gone

8 Responses to “After I Am Gone”

  1. reminds me of “And When I Die” by Blood, Sweat and Tears.

  2. Oh …. I’m all emotional now.

  3. Yeah, me too…

  4. Hey Noah, yeah, it’s crazy cold way down there.

  5. Straight good. Thanks for sharing.

  6. makes me want to cry. i love it.

  7. Thank you, Katie, sadly, me too.

  8. cyvelle sagayca Says:

    it hurts but it’s true

Leave a Reply

