A Keeper

A Collection of Perceptions is going on hiatus for an indefinite period of time. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you all for stopping by to read my sometimes humorous, sometimes ponderous perspective on life. Those of you who have generously offered feedback have added a good deal to my repertoire in the realm of creativity. I hope you have enjoyed my company as much as I’ve enjoyed yours. I leave you with,  

A Keeper

There’s a motel in the desert of Arizona
That waits for me
For reasons I cannot explain to anyone

Least of all myself
Except to say that it is the last place
I can be sure I was loved completely

By the man I completely love

I will go there and I will pray
For the first time in my life

I will light incense and candles
And sprinkle stardust
I will consult with shamans far wiser
Than I

In the mysterious ways of the universe

I will pray for direction
For answers and guidance
To hard choices I know I must make

And I will pray that miracles really
Do exist

And that my heart
In the end
Is not blind

Or buried in the sand

But rather
As honest as it claims to be
When it tells me it talks to his

Faithful it its pursuit
Of that which it believes to
Be meant
Ultimately

A keeper.

Comments are closed.

