Baring Down

I seem to want
Less and less
Each day

Fewer possessions
To tie me down
Fewer thoughts
Of what if

Fewer hopes
Fewer dreams
Tired truisms
Unquestioned
Ideas

Less guidance
From
Without

I want to meet
My fears
Expose them
To the light
Relieve them
Of their power

I want
Good coffee
Something
Sweet to eat
I want
A warm bed
A good book

A worthy conversation
With someone
I respect

I want
To pay the bills

I want to write raw
Down to the bone
From the soul
The truth
No matter what
Without caring to
Please anyone

I want to shadow dance
In his kitchen
With a snake
On my arm
In an amber light

Wearing only a hat

7 Responses to “Baring Down”

  1. LOL…Yeah..You can leave your hat on

  2. *grin*… And close that damn window, wouldya?

  3. Sketches of a man Says:

    Might I take but a moment of your time and tell you how fascinating and charming are your words.

    Kindest Wishes

  4. An Imperfect Servant Says:

    Truly Beautiful Scarlett.
    I know write where this comes from.
    It resonates so deep with me.

  5. Cool, resonating is good…!

  6. A soulful lament!

  7. Not a lament really, more an awareness… thanks ML.

Leave a Reply

