My love, my friend, Leigh Binder

IMG_2400January 25, 1959 – June 4, 2014

Leigh died last night, two weeks and 3 days after receiving a diagnosis of Glioblastoma (brain tumor). Until the end, he was funny, gentle, passionate and honest. He accepted his fate with courage and dignity, and while my heart broke to watch him die, it soared to see him fill these last ominous days with a genuine and abandoned embrace of life. He leaves a powerful legacy of love to those who knew him best, and to everyone, the vision, beauty, humor and imagination of his poetry and prose. His astute and often profound understanding of the human condition will live on.

 

4 Responses to “My love, my friend, Leigh Binder”

  1. There’s nothing more beautiful than words written with profound and unbridled love. I’d like to think this life is only the beginning of your journey with Leigh.

    Rest your head and your love-heavy and full heart.

    Much love, always.
    Loria

  2. I was shocked and saddened when I heard of Leigh’s passing. He was such a talented writer. I bought and reviewed ‘How to Kill Harry’ when he first published it. Please accept my sincere condolences. He was way too young to have left us.

  3. Just seeing this now.

    I like Leigh’s stuff and I like to think he and I would have enjoyed hanging out with each other.

    Perhaps he and I will have that opportunity in another place.

  4. ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo man. I have just seen that now.

    And I thought he is on some big travelling, inner or elsewhere. I guess he is.

    I am feeling deep sadness at that, I was still hoping to meet him one day face to face for a long coffee and words.

    my condolences might come late but my affection was and will always be there.

Leave a Reply

